Shopify merchants in the EU have many ways to create invoices. This overview puts the main options side by side. All information about other vendors comes from their own public pages – App Store listing, pricing page, help center – and reflects 6 October 2026. We have not tested the other apps ourselves. “Not stated” means the vendor’s sources do not describe it clearly – not that the feature is missing.
Invoice Autopilot is coming soon to the Shopify App Store. Our prices are provisional.
E-invoicing and credit notes
| App | E-invoice according to vendor | Automatic credit note on refund |
|---|---|---|
| Invoice Autopilot | ZUGFeRD/Factur-X EN 16931 as PDF/A-3, validation report per document | yes, per attributable refund against an app invoice (amounts already covered by a cancellation or correction credit note are not credited twice); unclear cases for review |
| Sufio | ZUGFeRD 2.3 EN16931 (COMFORT) for German accounts (beta according to vendor), Peppol | yes, from the Professional plan |
| Order Printer Pro | UBL/Peppol BIS 3.0 and CII as an add-on | credit notes available; automatic per refund not stated |
| Shopify Order Printer | not stated | not stated |
| Invoice Browse | ZUGFeRD, Factur-X, Peppol (versions not stated) | not stated |
| Pathway Rechnungsprinter (DE) | ZUGFeRD (profile not stated) | yes, also partial refunds |
| easybill (DE) | ZUGFeRD 2.5 EN16931/Extended as PDF/A-3, XRechnung 3.0.2 | yes |
| Billbee (DE) | ZUGFeRD 2.2.0 | yes, via rules |
| AutoInvoice, Omniasuite | not stated | Omniasuite: yes; AutoInvoice: not stated |
Where others do more
- Peppol and XRechnung: Sufio, Order Printer Pro (add-on), Invoice Browse and easybill offer formats or delivery networks that Invoice Autopilot does not.
- Accounting connections: easybill, Billbee and accounting-software connectors post directly into bookkeeping tools. Invoice Autopilot hands over by export. These connections have their own limits – according to Billbee, for example, no OSS with sevdesk V2 and no automatic paid status with Lexware Office; Eshop Guide’s Lexware app does not allocate consolidated payouts automatically according to its help. Details (in German) on the Billbee and accounting apps comparisons.
- Own email sending: Sufio, easybill, AutoInvoice, Omniasuite and Billbee send documents themselves. Invoice Autopilot uses links in Shopify emails and the customer account.
- More document languages: Sufio lists almost 40; Invoice Autopilot has six.
What Invoice Autopilot is built for
- Every final invoice and credit note as PDF/A-3 with ZUGFeRD/Factur-X EN 16931, technically validated, with a validation report for every document.
- Stops before the number: if details are missing or a tax case is unclear, the app assigns no number and explains why.
- A separate credit note per attributable refund against an app invoice, without crediting already-credited amounts twice, and separate number ranges – in every plan, including the free plan.
- Right inside Shopify: block, print and action on the order, download in the new customer accounts.
Head-to-head
- Invoice Autopilot vs. Sufio
- Invoice Autopilot vs. Order Printer Pro
- Invoice Autopilot vs. Shopify Order Printer
- More comparisons with German tools (Pathway, easybill, Billbee, sevdesk, Lexware Office) on our German comparison page.
Sources
- Sufio: App Store, plans, ZUGFeRD for Germany
- Order Printer Pro: App Store, Peppol and CII
- Shopify Order Printer: App Store, help
- Invoice Browse: App Store
- Pathway: App Store; easybill: e-invoicing formats; Billbee: e-invoices
- AutoInvoice: App Store; Omniasuite: App Store
All sources retrieved on 6 October 2026. Has something changed or is something missing? Let us know and we will correct it.