Shopify Order Printer is Shopify’s own free app for printing invoices, packing slips and other documents from customizable templates. It replaces the former “Order Printer” app. Information reflects 6 October 2026 and comes from the App Store listing and Shopify Help.
At a glance
| Feature | Invoice Autopilot | Shopify Order Printer (according to Shopify) |
|---|---|---|
| How it works | creates final invoices automatically on payment (from the start date, within filters) and credit notes on refund (from the refund start date) | select orders and print one or many (up to 50 orders per run) |
| E-invoice (ZUGFeRD/XRechnung) | PDF/A-3 with ZUGFeRD/Factur-X EN 16931, validation report | not stated |
| Credit note on refund | automatic for attributable refunds against a finished app invoice (amounts already covered by a cancellation or correction credit note are not credited twice); other cases for review; own number range | not stated |
| Invoice numbers | own sequential ranges | customizable invoice numbers |
| Templates | language, logo, color, rule-based notes | fully customizable with HTML, CSS and Liquid |
| Customer download | new customer accounts, order status page, link in Shopify emails | not stated |
| Archive/export | monthly package with PDF, XML and validation reports, CSV | print/export |
| Price | provisional: Free €0 (25 documents/month, then €0.10 each), Starter €9.99/month (250 documents, then €0.05 each) | free |
When Shopify Order Printer is enough
- You occasionally need a printed document and want to design it freely.
- You sell only to consumers and already have another solution for bookkeeping and archiving.
- It should cost nothing.
When Invoice Autopilot makes sense
- Invoices and credit notes should be created without a click as soon as Shopify reports payment or refund – unclear cases are shown for review.
- You need e-invoices to EN 16931 for business customers, with a validation report.
- You want sequential, separate number ranges, one credit note per attributable refund (without duplicates) and a monthly export for your accountant.
Sources
Retrieved on 6 October 2026. According to Shopify, not tested by us. Something different? Let us know.